« Taking a Look at Tenure at MIT | Blog Main | Good Cheer or Want to be a Star? »

Windows, Winter and Webcasts

A bit of advice based on personal experience, do NOT replace your bedroom and bathroom windows in December during one or more blizzards. One of the many side effects is that you get behind in your postings.

That said, many thanks to skookumchick for plugging the webcast that we at FairerScience will be doing January 9th for the National Girls Collaborative Project . I really was planning to tell you about it and even ask you to register here.

Hereís the blurb about what we will be doing:

Why Don't They Hear What I Say?

Have you ever felt as though you're shouting and no one hears; that your good work on gender and science is ignored by policy makers, teachers, and parents who all too often fall back on myths and stereotypes about gender?

If your answer is yes, then join Pat Campbell and the FairerScience team to learn more about why you aren't being heard and what you can do to help people separate myth from reality. We will cover issues of language, of media reporting and just what the facts actually are. In addition, we will explore the women in science blogging community and ways blogs can be used to introduce girls to the real lives of real scientists.

The National Girls Collaborative Project archives all of its webcasts on its site and ours will be there too. Iíll be posting about it as well. But we would love it if you would join us.

Remember it is January 9th from 2:00-3:00 EST; 11:00-12:00 PST and well you know 1:00-2:00 CST and 12:00 -1:00 MST and you can register here.